A Broken Infinity

A Broken Infinity

Why does everyone romanticize infinity? Infinity is impossible. Nothing lasts forever. And as depressing as that is, it only makes it worse when people romanticize the idea of things lasting forever. I’ve learned the hard way to not get attached to people because in the end everyone leaves. Maybe not intentionally, but they will leave nonetheless. Infinity seems like a good idea in theory, but if you get your hopes up that you will have something or someone for infinity you are only setting yourself up for disappointment.
On the other hand, it is sort of comforting that nothing lasts forever. Even though it sucks that the good things can’t last forever, it is also good to know that the hard times will not last forever either. Eventually the storm will pass. This is what I’ve been telling myself over the last few days. Even though I feel like I’m sinking deeper and deeper into a really dark place in my life I know it can’t last forever. Someday I WILL make it through because I am stronger than my eating disorder and I am stronger than all of the people who are trying to drag me down. I am stronger than everything in my past. Even if it tears me apart and shatters me, I will find a way to put myself back together because I know infinity is not real. It wont last forever. Why would I want it to? I’m finding strength in the promise of a better tomorrow rather than a false promise of infinity.

One thought on “A Broken Infinity

  1. inconsistentlyyours says:

    I love the fact that things don’t last forever. If I had to feel my most intense emotions forever I’d never last.
    I think infinity tattoos are the stupidest, people get them for no reason at all.

Leave a Reply

