I Love the Love in Your Eyes <3

Chocolate Lab

Throughout all of my struggles, all of the ups and downs, the highs and lows, there has always been one constant source of support in my life: my dog. Even when everything else is falling apart he is always there. Even when everyone else is mad at me he is always there to talk to. Even when nobody else understands he just accepts me for who I am. But above all else, he has never shown me anything but unconditional love.
Whenever I need a shoulder to cry on he is always available for me to bury my face in his fur. Whenever I need a hand to hold he is always there to lend his paw. I know that sounds silly but he always just seems to know when I need someone. He will just come and lie down beside me, put his head in my lap, and rest his paw on my hand. It’s like he just knows when I need him. He can read my emotions better than most people.
I’ve had people ask me why I talk to him, “it’s not like he can understand you” they would say. But that’s not altogether true. Even if my dog doesn’t understand the exact message that I’m telling him, he understands my tone of voice. He wags his tail when he knows I’m happy. He jumps around in circles with me when I am excited, even when he doesn’t know why. He rests his head on me when he knows that I’m sad. So even if he doesn’t know exactly what I’m saying, he still understands me. He knows when I need him and he is always there for me no matter. There is nobody in the world who can replace the kind of unconditional love that a dog can give you.
His mind is untouched by the unrealistic standards of beauty of society. He is not biased by the stereotypes that we are all accustomed to. He is the only one who I don’t feel self-conscious around. He doesn’t care how much I weigh, or what size pants I wear, or what I eat, or what I do with my life. He doesn’t judge me like everyone else. He loves me and accepts me for who I am and for that, I am so thankful.
Everyone could stand to learn a lesson about love from their dog. I know I certainly have.
So, to my wonderful little Munchkin, I love you with all of my heart, forever and always. Thank you for always being there for me.
Xo
Ayla

Leave a Reply

