Idiotic Insensitivity

A few days ago a girl that I just started working with commented on the scar on my forearm. She claimed that I should cover it up or people might think that I cut myself (*gasp*). She then went on to tell me that she had no idea how someone could do that to themselves, and that they have to seriously be crazy to do it. I had to bite my tongue to stop myself from saying something I would regret.
First of all, this girl does not know me. Therefore, while she should not assume that the scars are from self-harm, she should also not insult those who harm themselves. She completely disrespected me without even realizing it. I mean, you should at least get to know someone better before you spill your biases to them.
When I told her that I was a mental health advocate she played the “oh thats so great” card, which I thought was only slightly ironic considering she had been insulting people with mental illness only moments before.
The fact of the matter is that people who self harm are not quote-on quote “crazy”. Mental health struggles effect thousands upon thousands of people. You can’t just judge someone for something that they are struggling with. And you certainly shouldn’t confront someone in a workplace environment about something that could very likely be a sensitive issue, ESPECIALLY if you hardly know that person. Seriously. Its just disrespectful and unprofessional.

Leave a Reply

