Leibster Award Nomination

Leibster Award Nomination

Thank you so much http://writetolive7.wordpress.com/ for the Leibster Award nomination! I am so honoured to receive this nomination! I started this blog with the intention of raising awareness about mental illness, ending the stigma, and talking about my own experiences and struggles. I want to motivate people to make the change in the way that the public views mental illness. This nomination suggests that I am being successful in reaching people and raising awareness and for that I am so grateful!

As is customary for this award, the following is a Q&A blog about myself:

1) Why did you choose your current career?
I am currently working towards my undergraduate degree in the field of marketing. I chose this career path because I am interested in raising awareness about specific issues such as the stigmatization of mental illness. This will allow me to make a difference without actually interacting with individuals who have mental illness in the health care sector. Science was never my thing so this career path allows me to still be a part of the things that I am passionate about without having to actually be on the health care side of things.
2) If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?
I want to live where ever my close friends and family are. I really rely on these people for support so it is really important for me to be near them. That said, if I was able to choose anywhere in the world to move with all of my friends and family I would probably live somewhere like Ottawa. If I was going to move to a different country I would probably move to England.

3) What are your favorite things to do on your day off?

Play guitar, sing, read, write, draw, and take pictures. Pretty much anything creative.

4) Can you sing?
Yes and no. I would say I have a decent voice. I don’t have what it takes to be famous but I don’t think I’m awful either.

5) Who is your hero/heroine?

Demi Lovato is definitely my hero. She has gone through so much and come out the other side. I am currently facing many of the same mental health struggles that she has faced in the past so I find strength in her words of advice. She is truly inspirational.

6) Do you get along with your parents?
Yes and no. I get along with my parents for the most part. The only time I do not get along with them is when it comes to my own struggles with mental illness. They don’t understand what I am going through and they probably never will.

7) What is your favorite band/singer?
I have a lot of them. Ed Sheeran, Passenger, Imagine Dragons, Demi Lovato, Taylor Swift, City & Colour, Elton John, and Christina Perri to name only a few.

8) Have you ever won an award for sport?
HA…no.

9) Do you have any special talents?

I have been told that I am a talented writer. I’ve also been told that I have a good singing voice but I wouldn’t say its a strength.

10) What is your favorite book, and why?
There are sooo many!! I don’t know that I could narrow it down to just one book, but one of my favorites is The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey. My parents got this book for me when they went to Alaska for a vacation. I like it because it is so rich in culture. I feel like it really allows the reader to connect with Alaska. Its amazing. I definitely recommend you read it if you haven’t already.

11) If you could ask for one wish, what would it be?

World happiness. I just wish everyone could be happy. I want everyone to co-exist peacefully without pain or crime or hurt. I wish for happiness.

Now that I have answered the questions, I would like to nominate:

http://a2eternity.wordpress.com/

http://hopeinhealingblog.wordpress.com/

http://recoverybound27.wordpress.com/

http://doneinsecret.wordpress.com/

http://darcsunshine.wordpress.com/

Here are the rules!! http://wordingwell.com/the-liebster-award-the-official-rules-my-first-blog-award-and-a-few-personal-secrets-revealed/

I look forward to your posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

