Not everyone Lives

Have you ever seen someone who just looked so blissfully happy that you became happy for them? I was driving home from work today and I was stuck in traffic. Cars were bumper to bumper because it is Canada Day long weekend and everyone is heading away. Everywhere I looked I saw impatient drivers weaving in and out of traffic trying to get just a few meters further into their journey towards some promising destination. 

Among the travelers there was one individual who caught my attention. It wasn’t her appearance or her admittedly expensive looking car that  caught my eye, but rather it was her obvious happiness. She was smiling and bobbing her head along to her music. She was dancing and singing and acting in a way that most people only do in the privacy of their homes. But she was just so happy. I smiled to myself when I saw her because she made me think of the old expression that “not everyone lives but everyone dies”. I can’t help but think that I’m not living my life to the fullest. But for a moment this woman who I have never seen before brightened my day. 

I hope that one day I can be happy and carefree as well. 

xo

Ayla

Leave a Reply

