The important question: Do you like you?

I saw this video today and I was absolutely astonished by the message. It seems like such a straight forward message, but at the same time, my own body image got so bad that I developed bulimia. It really made me stop and think when I heard the lyrics “Why should you care, what they think of you? When you’re all alone, by yourself, do you like you? Do you like you?” because honestly the answer is no. I don’t like my appearance, I don’t like that I have an eating disorder, I don’t like that I have PTSD, I don’t like a lot of things about myself. This song really made me stop and think about how hard I am on myself. Why should I define myself by the standards of beauty of a corrupt society? Why should I care what strangers think of me? Why should I sacrifice my health for the perpetuation of an unrealistic standard of beauty?

I really like the message in this song because it inspired me to question the ways that I see myself. I still don’t like my appearance, there’s no doubt about that. But it would be unrealistic for a song to just completely change how I see myself. Instead, this song made me stop and think about WHY I don’t like these parts of myself. It was definitely an eye opener and it might help others who are struggling with body dissatisfaction and eating disorders.

xo

Ayla

One thought on “The important question: Do you like you?

  1. Marie says:

    Yes, I really enjoy this song too! iTunes had it as a free song a few weeks ago, and I was just checking it out and was like, “wow this is actually really nice, it sounds good, has a good meaning, etc!” so I downloaded it. It definitely makes you think about your perception

Leave a Reply

