How I realized I had an Eating Disorder

I think a part of me always knew that I had an eating disorder, but it really hit me when I took a bunch  of online quizzes that confirmed what I was already thinking: my behaviors indicated a strong tendency towards disordered eating. After taking these quizzes and using the NEDA online chat helpline, I decided that it was time to talk to my doctor. After sharing my concerns with my doctor he recommended that I consider going to see a counselor. It took a few months to build up the courage to go, but eventually I decided to go. I have been going to see a psychologist for counselling for about 3 months now and my suspicions have been confirmed with my diagnosis of bulimia nervosa.

 While online quizzes and chat helplines cannot confirm a diagnosis for you, they are great first steps towards getting help. If you suspect that you may be suffering with an eating disorder, I would highly recommend taking some self-quizzes and consulting your physician about your concerns. 

With that in mind, you cannot rely solely on self-quizzes online for a diagnosis. If you suspect that you have an eating disorder it is imperative that you seek professional help. Keep in mind that if you are above the age of majority in your country than you are entitled to privacy and you have the ability to decide whether or not you want help. Your doctor can make recommendations but cannot force you to go into treatment. If you are a minor, your doctor will be legally required to inform your parents/guardian (at least that is my understanding of it) however, it is still likely that you will have a say in whether you receive treatment or not. 

I am not saying this to scare your away from getting treatment for your disorder, but rather I am telling you this because if you are anything like me you are avoiding talking to your doctor because you are afraid that you will be forced into recovery. But this isn’t the case. Your doctor may want to run some tests to make sure you are not in any life-threatening danger, but most physicians realize that forcing someone into treatment will not actually help them recover. What I am trying to say is that even if you are not ready for recovery, it is still important that you talk to your doctor so that they are on the same page as you. They are there to help you and they can only help if they know what is going on with you. Don’t be afraid to reach out.

Ayla

Leave a Reply

