Finding happiness with my inner artist

Recently, I discovered that I have somewhat of a hidden talent. I guess I never realized that I can actually sketch pretty well because all of my previous attempts at drawing were pinned against the art works of more “professional” or experienced artists. However, one day I saw this really nice hardcover sketchbook in a store and I decided that I really wanted it. I had this burst of creativity and I decided I wanted to create an anthology of pictures and poems that I can look back on when I am older.

I find this really therapeutic because it is a way for me to express myself and get all of my pent up emotions out. The benefit of this is that I don’t have to hide my sketchbook in the same way that I have to hide my journal because art and poetry are objective; they are up for interpretation. There is no way that my parents or siblings could find my sketchbook and call me out on having an eating disorder or struggling with self-harm. This is not the case with my journal though because it quite obviously talks about all of my struggles. For this reason I keep my journal hidden under lock and key (literally) whereas I can just keep my sketchbook at my desk. So the fact that I don’t have to worry about getting caught really helps with the art being therapeutic because I don’t have to be on guard when I am drawing like I have to be when I am writing in my journal.

I also find that other forms of artistic therapy really help me. For example, I started playing guitar about two years ago and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. Playing guitar is one of the best ways for me to unwind and relax when I am feeling stressed.

It makes sense for me to feel better when I engage in creative and artistic activities because I have always been relatively good at these types of activities. I have never been a sporty person so I would never go and play a game of soccer or hockey to feel better. Art is my outlet. Art speaks louder than words.

Leave a Reply

