The pain of loss

Here I stand, alone once more

Your absence like a knife in my heart

Three years gone by, you never let me down

But now I’m all alone.

I yearn for you and wish for even just a little more time together

I don’t know how to live without you, who can I depend on?

I see empathy in the eyes of others, but how can they understand?

Our connection was one of a kind; you were mine and I was yours

You were the calm in my storms, my only escape

How can I go on?

Maybe there was something I could have done, some way I could save you

How could I have been so blind? The signs were all right there

I know you’ve had your ups and downs, but you always came out strong

I should have known how deceiving appearances can be

Unbearable pain in the heart of even the strongest can eventually tear you down

Now here I stand facing a future without you

My sadness has made me weak

I miss you more than you will ever know

They say everything happens for a reason

Destiny may have parted us physically, but you will forever be in my heart

xoxox

Ayla

Leave a Reply

