On to the next chapter

Change is in the air! Yesterday I had my last session with my psychologist and I am now transferring to a new doctor. I’m still a bit sad that she is leaving because I really trusted her and she was really nice, but I can understand that she also has her own life that she needs to live. So it’s time to move on to the next one. I guess it could be a good thing though. I made a lot of progress with my current old psychologist, but maybe I will make even better progress with a different doctor. And if not, I can always switch back to my first doctor when she comes back from maternity leave in a year.

Our last session together wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. I guess the fact that she is leaving for a legitimate reason kind of helps me to feel like she isn’t abandoning me. I understand the importance of her leave of absence and I am happy for her even though I will probably miss having her as my therapist.

Part of me wants to try even harder to recover now because I want to make her proud. It’s sort of weird because she doesn’t really know me outside of the therapy setting, but I really want her to know that the work that we did together wasn’t a waste. She really changed my life for the better and I will always be so thankful for all of the help that she provided to me and the best way that I can show her that is by getting better. I don’t know if I will ever see her again or if she will see my file when she comes back or if she will even wonder about me and how I am doing, but I feel like I owe it to her to try and get better.

Here’s to the long road ahead.

Xo

Ayla

Leave a Reply

