Let’s talk body-shaming

Up until recently I generally thought of body-shaming as being specific to fat-shaming. I believed that skinny individuals were immune to body shaming because they have what everyone else wants. However, I’ve since come to realize that this isn’t the case at all.

One YouTuber by the name of Annie Marie or “Itty Bitty Annie” as she is known across many social media platforms, has opened my eyes to the reality of the situation. Skinny-shaming is real and it is just as hurtful and damaging as fat-shaming.

Now that I think about it I do remember a lot of people commenting on my body when I was in the depths of my bulimia. A lot of people would focus on my body weight and I would often be told that I need to eat more. At the time I took it as a compliment; the comments were like fuel to the fire that was my eating disorder. However, since gaining weight I have received a significantly fewer number of comments on my body. From this experience I have come to the conclusion that skinny individuals face just as much criticism, if not more, than individuals who are overweight.

I believe this is because people get jealous. People want what they cannot have and since they are unable to attain the “ideal” body weight, they belittle women who are smaller and accuse them of being unhealthy, sickly, and “unnatural”.

One video in particular by Annie Marie caught my attention because it features her talking about the criticisms that she faces as a result of her weight. This really opened my eyes to the fact that body-shaming is not limited to individuals who are overweight. Indeed, it is a problem that extends much further than this.

I have since spoken out about this issue on my personal Facebook page and I have received a lot of backlash from people who believe that it is their right to pass judgement on the appearance of individuals. But I am here to say that it is absolutely NOBODY’S right to comment on your body or criticize you whether you are skinny, “average”, or overweight. Your body is yours and yours alone. It is of no concern of anyone else except for perhaps medical professionals who are helping you be healthy.

So if you are one of the people who is criticizing other’s on there appearance, you need to stop. However, if you are one of the people who is constantly being criticized, perhaps you should ask “what gives you the right to comment on or criticize my body?” the next time anyone tries to say anything to you about it.

Stand up for yourself. You are BEAUTIFUL! ❤

xo

Ayla

Leave a Reply

