If you want something, go after it.

Recently, I got some amazing news. Some of you may remember a few weeks back that I had been told that I would have to stop seeing my therapist because my school made mental health cuts. Well, yesterday I found out that I was approved for 12 additional sessions. That’s enough to allow me weekly sessions for the rest of semester which is much better than the monthly visits that I’ve had this semester.

But what’s even more amazing is how this came about. After being upset for about a week I decided to email the president of the university equivalent of “student council”. I didn’t hear anything back at first but after about a week of waiting I got a response stating that he would be looking into it and fighting to meet the needs of students who require therapy. Two days I got the phone call to let me know that I could continue my treatments.

Of course, I can’t take all the credit. My therapist contacted the officials at my school as well which may have had a stronger impact than my own efforts. Either way, I am thankful for the additional treatment.

After going through a recent relapse with my eating disorder and self-harm I am so relieved to know that I will not be alone next semester. I will have someone to talk to and I can get through this.

2 thoughts on “If you want something, go after it.

Leave a Reply

