Why “slut shaming” should sound more like “sexuality shaming”

One of these huge movements for the empowerment of women recently is the idea that slut shaming is not okay. While I agree that it is not okay, I believe that calling it “slut shaming” is in and of itself not okay. I mean, think about it: by calling something “slut shaming” you are inadvertently telling people that it is not okay to shame a slut, but it is okay to still refer to them as a slut which is in and of itself a demeaning term.

So how about this: how about we drop the term “slut” all together? It’s a disgusting term born from patriarchy. It is a term used to demean any woman who should dare to express her sexuality while at the same time it is a term that men will use to refer to a woman who isn’t quite ready to have sex yet.

“Slut” is a ruthless term used to insult women whether they are sexual or not; whether they have had one sexual partner or 15; whether they are monogamous or not. But the fact remains that it is most certainly NOT okay.

As a sexual abuse survivor, I can tell you that I experience a great deal of insecurity and anxiety about sexual relations of any manner. I have never been able to be completely intimate with a man and yet I have been called a slut so many times that I’ve lost count. As if I needed another reason to feel disgusted by sexuality; as if I needed another reason to feel horribly about myself.

If you agree with me then I want to you to make a vow to yourself to never refer to another human being as a “slut” or any other sexually demeaning term. I want you to empower women, not tear them down. Let’s end slut shaming, not sexuality shaming.

Ayla

Leave a Reply

