The difference between setting goals and living in the future

As a goal-driven individual, I find that I have to constantly have something that I’m working towards in order to give myself a reason to get up, get dressed, and basically live life in general. This can be anything from small tasks to long-term life goals.

What I’ve notices recently though is that while it is good to set goals for myself, there are also some boundaries that I need to set for myself. I’ve discovered that I become so entrenched in working towards my long-term goals that I forget to live in the moment. I forget to do the things that make me happy today because I am so focused on worrying about the future and everything that could go wrong. I try to predict what could happen and remedy the potential issues that may or may not arise in 6 months, a year, 5 years…can you see where I’m going with this?

Life goals are not inherently bad, but when you spend 99.99999% of your time thinking about where you want to be in the future, it’s impossible to just live your life for what you have right now in this moment. Realistically, the future is not guaranteed. It might seem cliche to say so, but we really only have this moment that we are living in today and the memories of past moments. Therefore, spending all of your time worrying about a future that may or may not happen the way that you’ve planned it is kind of a waste of a perfectly good present moment…right?

Now, this is not to say that it is pointless to have goals and make decisions about where you want to be in your future. On the contrary, I think that it is important to think about what you want your life to be like, what will make you happy, what your ideal career would be, and so on. The point i’m trying to make is not that you should never set goals for yourself, but rather I want to point out that you should live in the moment and do what makes you happy rather than waiting for the perfectly ideal future that may or may not ever happen.

All we have is this day, this hour, this moment. Who knows what will happen in the future, but is it really something that you want to spend your entire life worried about?

One thought on “The difference between setting goals and living in the future

Leave a Reply

