“When the fat girl gets skinny” response

I feel like this poem perfectly describes my experience having an eating disorder. I went from being overweight to being underweight in the space of 5-6 months. And even though I wasn’t healthy, people showered me with praise. They told me that I looked great and that they could not believe the transformation. They asked me how I did it and what my secret was. I wanted to give them a snarky response and tell them that it was a perfect recipe of one part self-loathing and two parts starvation. But I stopped myself and explained it away as being the result of stress.

I think this girl does a great job of explaining my experience and I hope that this will help others in the same way that it helped me to feel understood.

Happy listening!

Leave a Reply

