“You look good…you look happy”

Today I had the pleasure of running into one of my old supervisors who I had a very good working relationship with. He was a great mentor for me and definitely helped me in developing my skill set which undoubtedly helped me in attaining the job which I currently have.

When he saw me, he made a point of coming over to my desk to tell me “you look good…you look happy”. Of course, this made me smile; but I couldn’t help but feel a bit puzzled by what he said. I thought to myself that I must look happy because I was happy to see him. But then after a bit of thought it dawned on me that he knew me at a point in my life where I was really struggling. As much as I’m having a hard time right now and going through a rough patch, it really doesn’t compare to the level of unhappiness which I was experiencing a year and a half ago when he first met me.

This realization got me thinking that maybe I look happier to him because even my bad days now are better than my best days before. Sometimes I forget to be thankful for how much improvement I have made over the course of the last 14 months. Of course, a huge part of that can be chalked up to having a wonderful therapist who supports me. But at the same time I also have to recognize that it was also my own hard work which allowed me to make this much progress. It wouldn’t matter how great my therapist was if I was not willing to also put in the effort and work hard to get better. While I tend to brush this off, I think that it is important to reflect on how hard I have worked and reward myself for making so much progress despite all of the challenges that have come up along the way.

So, congratulations Self on making so much progress! Keep it up!! haha it seems so silly to write that, but I think it’s important to pay attention to the positives when they come to the forefront of my mind. I spend so much time focusing on the negatives and everything that seems to be going wrong without giving myself credit for all of the progress I have made.

Do any of my readers feel this way too? I challenge you to think about something positive or progressive that you’ve done. What do you have to congratulate yourself about?

xo

Ayla

One thought on ““You look good…you look happy”

  1. nessa3 says:

    That was great. Your right, I do the same forget where I have come from and how much progress It seems to take so much consetration for just the moment that you tend not to look how far you are from the start

Leave a Reply

