Stuck in a rut blogger edition

blogging-from-bed-coffee-morning-bloggers-life-morning-routine

Lately I’ve been feeling stuck in a rut when it comes to writing. I feel like I’ve been so pessimistic and focused on all of the negatives without paying any attention to the positives, at least when it comes to the content I’m publishing here on my blog. And because of this I’ve been feeling very uninspired.

I used to write content in a flurry of ideas, my fingers flying across the keys of my laptop struggling to keep up with the thoughts running through my mind. I used to have so much passion in my writing; so much emotion and honesty. But now I’m writing things for the sake of publishing more content. I feel as though my blog ideas have run out and I have no desire to bore my readers with the routinized details of my day to day life.

When I was a student I was constantly being exposed to new things that captured my attention and really made me think critically about myself and the world around me. I believe that I was more self-reflective as a student. Since graduating and ceasing to attend regular educational experiences I find myself fixating on the same concepts, ideas, and topics over and over and over again. My writing has become redundant. Or maybe it is my thoughts and lifestyle that has become redundant.

Maybe I’m so fixated on writing about eating disorders because of the redundancy of my own struggles with an eating disorder. I’m stuck in this blogger rut fixating solely on eating disorders because the disorder has taken over this aspect of my life just as it has with nearly all other aspects of my life. My blogger identity has been infiltrated.

I think I need to make some changes to my own life in order to improve not only my writing quality and content, but also my quality of life as a whole. Will I look back 10 years from now and be happy with myself for spending all of my  free time at home in pajamas in front of my computer, tv, or a book? Or will I wish that I had spent more time with friends and had more fun with others?

Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with enjoying quiet time and having a night in to yourself. But it seems as though this is all that my life consists of right now. I go to work and then come home. The only exception to this is my therapy sessions 3-4 times per month. So maybe this is why I’m feeling like I’m in a rut. Maybe the problem extends beyond my blog and into my everyday life. Maybe I will be happier and have more interesting and inspiring content to write about if I force myself to get out of my apartment more often.

I guess time will tell. But in the meantime, if any of my readers have any content that they are interested in learning more about please feel free to leave a comment below! I’m open to suggestions!

xo

Ayla

One thought on “Stuck in a rut blogger edition

  1. hooping with my weasels says:

    I understand how you feel. I love to be left to myself but I too also wonder if i’m missing out on something i’m not aware of. I’m going to check out a Zumba class near me to hopefully get a comforting dose of humanity as well as something out of the norm for me. Perhaps you could find a new inspiration by finding something that suits your interest, but isn’t something you would typically do.
    I think you’re a brilliant writer and offer a lot of insight into the things that interest you or that you have experienced most. When you start to question whether or not you have wasted your time, just remember all the readers you have helped not feel so alone.

Leave a Reply

