Going to therapy isn’t a weakness

When I was 16 years old it was suggested that i see a therapist for my anxiety. At that time it felt like a slap in the face. How dare they suggest that I need a therapist? I wasn’t “CRAZY” *gasp*!!

Thankfully, my understanding of therapy has come a long way since then. As Demi Lovato once said, “Weakness is living in denial. Only the strongest people ask for help”. By the time I was 20 I had come to my senses and realized that I really did need professional help, but it took months for me to realize that this didn’t make me weak. In fact, at the time I felt weak for more than one reason. First, I felt weak because I wasn’t strong enough to overcome my issues on my own. But on the contrary I felt weak in the sense that I was entering therapy voluntarily which –to me– meant that I was not sick enough to be forced into therapy by my parents or doctors. I saw myself as weak because I did not have the willpower to make myself dangerously underweight. Messed up, I know.

Asking for the help of a therapist was one of the best decisions that I ever made.  Not only did it help me realize that my thought patterns we extremely unhealthy, but it also helped me overcome many of the self-damaging behaviors that I had been engaging in. Therapy helped me regain control of my life and made me realize that I didn’t have to spend the rest of my life miserable and haunted by the abuse of my past. I owe so much of my happiness today to the wonderful support of my therapist.

For anyone who is afraid to try therapy, give it a shot! Seriously, I was stubbornly refusing to see a therapist for so long because I didn’t think that my issues were bad enough to need therapy, but it has helped me so much. I used to think that seeing a therapist was such a taboo thing to do, but now I speak relatively openly about my experiences in therapy. There is no shame in self-improvement. Therapy can help you improve yourself and your quality of life. What do you have to lose…I mean aside from the cost of the sessions !! :p

If anyone is thinking about going to therapy but has questions, feel free to leave me a comment below! I would be happy to answer them to the best of my ability!

xo

Ayla

 

4 thoughts on “Going to therapy isn’t a weakness

  1. Lyss says:

    love this so much, going to therapy is NOT something we should be ashamed of. Therapy helped me and continues to help me tremendously. Great post Ayla! xoxo

    • Discoverecovery says:

      Thank you! I think everyone could benefit from therapy even if they don’t have any serious things going on. It’s a great self improvement tool. I’m so much better now than I was 2 years ago. But now the problem is that I never want to stop going because I enjoy it so much (most of the time)! It’s hard to imagine not having that support system after so long. I can’t even begin to comprehend how I’ll deal with stressors without my therapist’s support.

  2. staystrong10 says:

    Love this! It was hard for me to get past the “therapy makes you weak” stigma. Fortunately, my counselor helped me get past that and I became more strong through therapy than I would have without it!

    • Discoverecovery says:

      I’m so glad your counselor helped you change you mindset about therapy! You are so strong for working to improve yourself and overcome your struggles. Xo

Leave a Reply

