Coffee shop lovin’

tumblr_static_1911174_10203137687708262_269479032_o

Sometimes the best way to put a smile on your face after a rough day is to do something for yourself that is just for you. Personally, I really enjoy going to coffee shops and having a nice warm beverage and reading a book, writing, or meeting up with a friend.

The great thing about going to places like cafes is that it allows you to feel like you are in a social situation without necessarily requiring you to be social. Personally, when I’m having a rough day I like to be left alone to my thoughts or lose myself in a good book. But at the same time, I know that I am prone to self-destructive behaviors when I am under a lot of stress. Cafes give me the solidarity that I need without giving me the opportunity to do anything that would jeopardize my recovery.

Plus, sometimes it’s just nice to take yourself out of your normal everyday routine. If you find yourself stuck in a rut when it comes to working on a paper for class, or if you are experiencing writers block (hello, fellow bloggers!) then taking yourself out of your usual environment might be the key to helping you overcome whatever it might be that is interfering with your productivity.

For those of you who are looking to meet new friends or get acquainted with a new city or town, going to coffee shops can also be a great opportunity for you to experience local culture and meet new people. Putting yourself out there doesn’t have to be a dramatic affair; sometimes something as simple as spending an hour a week reading in a cafe can be enough to help you meet new people and discover new things that life has to offer you.

Bonus, if you’re a caffeine addict like me you’ll also get your coffee fix!! It’s the little things that really make a world of difference.

xo

Ayla

3 thoughts on “Coffee shop lovin’

  1. Wandering Chrysippus says:

    Thanks for reminding us that we need to take time for ourselves in the midst of hectic days. It’s easy to get lost in the day-to-day rush, and forget that it’s important for us to simply stop and recharge!

  2. blondepancake says:

    I love this! This is so true. You can totally go out in public, but there’s no pressure to talk to anyone. Have an amazing weekend girly ❤️

Leave a Reply

