4 Reasons to love ‘me time’

i-love-me-time

This post may not be totally unexpected coming from an introvert, but even if you’re the most extroverted person in the world ‘me time’ is still important! Here’s why!

‘Me time’ gives you some time for self-discovery

While spending time with others can be a great way to learn new things about yourself, one of the best ways to discover who you are as a person is to spend some time by yourself. This time alone helps you figure out what you enjoy doing for yourself, not because all of your friends enjoy it. Maybe you’re a book work and you just haven’t given yourself the chance to discover it yet!

0601-wp-single-by-shea-pixabay

‘Me Time’ is the perfect chance to do some self-reflectionwoman_reflecting

Self-reflection is essential to self-improvement and personal success. How can you possibly expect yourself to learn from your past decisions if you never take the time to reflect on them? ‘Me time’ gives you a chance to do this which can in turn help you become a better, mentally healthier person. This is especially true if you’re struggling with something right now. Self-reflection can help you sort through difficult situations and make solution-focused changes to your life.

Sometimes you need to take a break from the rest of the world

Do you e50-ways-to-take-a-break-715x881ver feel like you’re carrying the weight of the world on your shoulders? I know I do. For me, this is usually a signal that I need to take a step back from the stresses of life and take a break, even if that just means taking an hour our of my day to watch TV. You don’t need to completely change your life to make strides towards feeling better emotionally. Sometimes small changes are all you need!

‘Me time’ gives you an opportunity to pursue your passions

We’re all different; we all have those parts of ourselves that are passionate about one thing or another. Whether your passion is writing, singing, dancing, running, music or any number of other things, we all have something that ignites that spark within. Finding that passion within yourself can be essential to your happiness, especially if you’re struggling with a mental illness such as depression.

‘Me time’ gives you the chance to find your passion and explore it. Do what makes you happy! Give yourself time to do those things that give you a reason to smile and drag yourself out of bed in the morning.

♥♥♥

I hope these points inspire you to give ‘me time’ a shot! I know it can seem like such an elusive concept if you’re living an extremely busy life; however, you might be pleasantly surprised by just how much your happiness could improve if you spend a bit more time alone with yourself.

Does anyone else enjoy spending time alone with their own thoughts and hobbies? What are your experiences about the impact of ‘me time’ on your life in general? Let me know in the comments!

xo

Ayla

 

3 thoughts on “4 Reasons to love ‘me time’

  1. Lyss says:

    I love “Me time.” I feel like it gives me a way to separate myself from the rest of the world and check to see how I’m doing/feeling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

