Getting through the day

The sound of an acoustic guitar playing a familiar song is one of the most calming experiences for me. Today, this cover of one of my childhood favorites helped me calm down when nothing else could bringing me out of my mental hell.

Music is one of my coping techniques for when I’m feeling really intense emotions or urges to engage in “maladaptive” behaviors (in the words of my psychologist…). When I’m feeling numb, I listen to music that will help me release the pent up emotions that I’m feeling. When I’m feeling overwhelmingly sad or angry or out of control like I was today, I listen to soothing music like this song.

I’m not sure if anyone else finds music to be an effective coping mechanism, but I hope this helps someone else in the same way that it helped me today.

xo

Ayla

2 thoughts on “Getting through the day

Leave a Reply

