“One of the most important things you can do on this earth is to let people know they are not alone” –Shannon L. Adler

tumblr_o1rbnfmbjg1rhgj3wo1_500

One of the most difficult feelings that I have ever experienced is the feeling of being completely, utterly, totally alone.

Even the most difficult tasks can seem feasible when you have the support of others. Even if your support network is small, the support is still there. Conversely, when you feel alone (although I’ve discovered that this is rarely ever the case despite the feeling) even the simplest of tasks can seem like too much.

Feeling alone is like a road block; a cement barrier; a barbed wire fence threatening to harm you if you even so much as think about climbing it. Feeling alone creates a sense of hopelessness and inability. Metaphorically speaking, feeling alone makes the idea of completing simple tasks feel like trying to cross an ocean without the help of a life jacket to keep you afloat; it’s exhausting, daunting, and the end goal seems impossibly far away.

Personally, I believe that one of the best (albeit, hardest) ways to learn how tremendously something impacts an individual’s life is to go through it yourself. As a result of my personal experiences dealing with the feeling of having no support, or not enough support, I’ve discovered that having people in your life who care about you and support you is one of the most important elements of success. Therefore, I believe that one of the most important things that we can do on earth is to show others that they are not alone, even on their hardest days.

f14b1d584c6394603c78f487f8a0681e

In an effort to support others, I started volunteering with various organizations about two years ago. I joined 7 Cups of Tea to provide online support to people who are suffering and I also started volunteering at a few cancer support organizations. While my passion is for mental health, I didn’t feel as though I was mentally stable enough at the time to help others struggling with mental health issues, and cancer has touched the lives of so many people around me. Showing support doesn’t just have to involved people struggling with mental illness. Everyone goes through hard times and I think it’s important to get involved as best as you can in the fight to help people feel less alone.

I don’t think people realize how important this can be; one conversation could mean the difference between life or death for someone who is feeling alone.

In the spirit of showing support I challenge YOU (yes YOU, the one reading this RIGHT NOW) to do something today that could make a difference to someone who is feeling alone.

Let me know how it goes!! I would love to hear the results!

Xo

Ayla

5 thoughts on ““One of the most important things you can do on this earth is to let people know they are not alone” –Shannon L. Adler

  1. DaisyWillows says:

    We have so much in common. I too have and ED and other diagnoses. I also volunteer for mental health charities ‘ healthy minds’ . It’s time people start realising that we all have mental health and we go up and down along the bar all the time. Support it crucial to help us et a boost to carry on. I blogged on several posts of people suffering from mental health

    • Discoverecovery says:

      Thanks for sharing! I love reading your blog posts and I’m so glad that you’re also a mental health volunteer!

Leave a Reply

