“I refuse to be stressed today. It doesn’t go with my outfit”

Recently while browsing through my Instagram I came across a photo of one of my coworkers with a huge smile on her face and the caption “I refuse to be stressed today. It doesn’t go with my outfit”. When I saw this image on Instagram I was immediately touched by how optimistic my coworker’s attitude was for the day.

Everyone goes through difficult times and everyone faces stress. As I am fairly close to this coworker, I know that recently she has been going through stress that I would not wish on my worst enemy. This girl has been going through an unimaginable amount of stress and yet she has managed to put a smile on her face. Granted things have started to get better for her slowly but steadily; however, I still think she deserves mega credit for having such an optimistic outlook after going through such a difficult time.

The idea of refusing to let stress get to me is a bit of a foreign concept for me. I mean, how do you do it? How do you just refuse to let something stress you out? Stress is by default a very pervasive and impactful thing to experience, so how does one simply ignore it or refuse to let it be a prevailing feeling in a given day? I know it must be possible, but I don’t know how to achieve it. Stress management is a skill which I have yet to master.

Despite the fact that I have no idea how to conquer the pervasiveness of stress in my day, I wanted to share this story with my readers to let you know that it IS possible to overcome stress. It does not have to rule your life and it does not have to be something outside of your control. I think it is important to share stories like this because I want other people to realize that there are ways to manage stress even if it does not seem plausible in your current life.

While I am among those of you who have not yet mastered the skill of stress management I believe that this is something that we can all work toward in our lives. A less stressed life is a more healthy life, so why not give it a shot?

Do any of you have any pointers about how to control stress rather than letting stress control you? Let me know in the comments!

Xo

Ayla

One thought on ““I refuse to be stressed today. It doesn’t go with my outfit”

Leave a Reply

