How do I achieve happiness?

What is the key to happiness? Well, considering a large majority of my readers are individuals who also struggle with depression and anxiety, I’m sure I’m preaching to the choir when I say this, but here goes…THERE IS NO KEY TO HAPPINESS.

Shocking, right? Well…probably not. At least I hope not.

The reality is that happiness is not about finding one “key” that will unlock some magical gate to some wonderful kingdom of happiness. Life isn’t a fairy tale and happiness is not so simple. Or is it?

In my experience, happiness comes from stability and structure. When my life is too full of unknowns or instability I find myself worrying about everything that could possibly go wrong and unable to find even a glimmer of hope in the dark dreadful black hole of the unknown future. However, others thrive in unstable environments. I’ve come across many people in my life who transition seamlessly between jobs, relationships, living arrangements, and so on while still maintaining what seems to be a high level of happiness.

Evidently, there is not one singular way to experience happiness. Different people are happy in different situations and circumstances. For me, it seems impossible to be happy while simultaneously worrying about anything while others seem capable of managing a high level of stress while remaining optimistic and happy.

While I appreciate the fact that my anxiety is an instinctual defense mechanism to protect me from danger, I also think that there is a way for me to live my life without experiencing clinically disordered levels of anxiety and stress.  Living with chronic stress and anxiety is not only a terrible way to live, but it also contributes to a shorter life expectancy and a reduction in an individual’s overall health. As a result, I am making it my mission to combat my anxiety and live a happier life.

The tips and tricks in the video above are great if you’re interested in having a listen to her experiences and advice. Her first point about being mindful and living in the moment rather than playing out catastrophic scenarios in your head is definitely something that I need to work on.

Let me know what you think about the video or this post in the comments below!

Thanks for reading.

xo

Ayla

2 thoughts on “How do I achieve happiness?

  1. DaisyWillows says:

    Ayla. You are so right We all experience MH issues differently. We may share simialr symptoms but we are not clones. Great post bringing awareness to the fact that what can be slightly stressful for one person can be something terrifying and a trigger fro others. We are all similar yet unique

  2. jlstanding says:

    Stability and structure comforts me too, although sometimes when things dont go according to plan I know I just need to ease myself into the direction of “letting go”. Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

