The sun’s rays on my face

sunshine

I float away

towards the sun,

my happy place,

it’s just begun.

With the break of dawn

I can finally see;

the warm light of life

shatters the darkness inside me.

I take a deep breath,

think of dreams I’ll chase;

It’s the simple things in life;

The sun’s rays on my face.

♥ ♥ ♥

I wrote this poem this morning when I felt inspired to appreciate all of the simple things in life. I love sunsets and sun rises. I love how the dawning of a new day is such a beautiful experience. Have you ever just taken a moment to watch a sunrise? Have you ever been blown away by just how amazing the horizon looks as the sun makes it’s rise to the sky? The colours are so bright and the warmth of the sun’s rays on my face is one of my favorite feelings, especially on a chilly morning.

I’ve been having a pretty rough few weeks and sometimes it’s hard to remember what happiness feels like. But when I have a memory of something so simple as the warmth of the sun on my face that evokes such a calming and peaceful feeling within me it becomes easier to remember that things will get better. Everyone goes through ups and downs; nobody has a perfect life. But sometimes it’s the simple things that can keep you grounded and help you weather the tough storms of life.

xo

Ayla

 

2 thoughts on “The sun’s rays on my face

  1. DaisyWillows says:

    Beautiful words as usual. The best sunset/sunrise ever recall seeing was in Ibiza. The tradition there is when the sun rises and sets everyone falls quiet to pay homage to the great beauty that is our sun.

Leave a Reply

