Decisions, decisions: more money vs. more happiness?

In the past week I went from having absolutely no job offers with very few prospects to having 3 job offers in the space of 4 days. Wow.

time-vs-money2

One of the jobs was at a retail store that I could see myself liking.

One was at at bookstore that I could see myself LOVING.

And one was a desk job that I knew I would absolutely HATE based on past employment experiences…but it paid more than twice as much per hour than the other two…

Tough decision.

Through process of elimination I ruled out the first retail job right away because I knew that I would like the bookstore job better and I knew that I would choose the higher pay over that job as well. So then it came down to the deal breaker: should I choose the job that I know I will love or the one that I know will give me a higher income?

As someone who will be starting as Master’s degree in September, finances are obviously something that I need to keep in mind. However, given the fact that I suffer from extreme anxiety and I have difficulty managing stress, I also needed to think about which job would be a better fit for my mental health.

Ultimately, I made the decision to go with the job that I knew I would love. I know that it pays less money per hour, but for me being happy in my job is rewarding in and of itself. I knew that the higher paying job would be a lot more stressful and I most likely would not be able to maintain the demanding schedule of the position when I go back to school. So in the long term, working a less stressful job where I’m happier and where I know I will be able to continue working when I go back to school just seemed like a no-brainer. Plus, it’s a bookstore!! What could be a more perfect fit for a bookworm than a job at a huge bookstore!?

I think one of the lessons that I’ve had the opportunity to learn over the past little while is that nothing is more important than my mental and physical health. Sure, money is important; I need to be able to support myself and pay my bills. But even though I won’t be making as much as I would have at the other job, I will still be making enough to get by and support myself without all of the extra stress. After all, who would want added stress when they’re already going to be dealing with the stress that comes along with completing as Master’s degree? Not me!!

I know that some people will think that I’m absolutely crazy for making the choice that I did, and I would be lying if I told you that there wasn’t even a tiny part of me that is kicking my own butt for turning down the higher paying job…BUT happiness is a priority.

7317266510_d1d039571a

Life is not about money. Human beings do not exist on this planet for the sole purpose of earning money and then dying. Life is about LIVING! Life is about finding happiness and doing things that you enjoy! I only have one life to live and I want to spend it doing things that will make me happy and fulfill my dreams. I honestly believe that the job at the bookstore will make me so much happier long-term than the desk job ever would have so I just need to silence that inner-worrisome voice that is questioning my decision and remember that happiness is the goal.

I get to spend my days in my happy place (read: surrounded by books) rather than sitting in front of a desk all day! So now the question becomes, how do I refrain from spending all of my pay cheque on books!? 😉 I’ll have to learn some new self-control skills!

Thanks for reading!

xo

Ayla

4 thoughts on “Decisions, decisions: more money vs. more happiness?

  1. DaisyWillows says:

    Hey Ayla. I don’t think your lifestyle career choice is crazy at all. It is well thought out and completely rational. You have a lot on and as you say the end result of a life should not be how much money you have made it should be about the quality of life you have lived and that does not have to include acquiring loads of money. You can’t buy your health – congrats on the new job 🙂

    • Discoverecovery says:

      Thank you! I’m so excited to start working there and I definitely did not have the same level of enthusiasm for the other job. My main feeling about that one was dread. I definitely think I made the right choice 🙂

  2. myquietroar says:

    Congrats on the job! And well done for making what seems like a good decision – quality of life is so important, and that will have an impact on your studies too. Exciting times!

Leave a Reply

