Mental Health Awareness Month!

Mental Health Awareness Month is finally here!!

tumblr_nnt850ypgi1u9yt0oo1_500

I am a mental health ambassador with the Mental Health Commission of Canada so I try to raise awareness every chance that I get. Seeing as how May is a month dedicated to raising awareness about mental health, you might say I’m a bit excited right now! 🙂

ecdc4c9e25f8d390803dde6cee8efecbe1a5976a1866d7d002f1ad81d94e9a17I’ve got a lot of things planned for my blog over the next month, one of which will be mental health book reviews! I’m a huge fan of books about mental health and I’ve dabbled in book reviews over the last two years or so and I want to make this a regular part of my blog. So, if you’re interested in mental health and books, be sure to keep your eyes out for my mental health book reviews!

In addition to this, I’m hoping to start blogging more about my own experiences with my mental health. This is something that I used to do more regularly (in fact, it was the reason I started blogging in the first place) but I’ve sort of drifted away from this is favor of writing less personally-relevant posts. However, I think that being open and honest about my own experiences is one of the best ways that I can help raise awareness and instigate change in the mental health community. There will be more to come on this in the near future!

What are your plans for Mental Health Awareness Month? Are you a mental health advocate? What steps have you taken (or are planning to take) to fight the stigma associated with mental illness?

Let me know in the comments!

xo
Ayla

 

3 thoughts on “Mental Health Awareness Month!

  1. nessa3 says:

    I never talk about my mental health struggles to anyone but my T.
    There is so much negativity towards anyone with mental health issues.
    Especially to any christian….most churches treat it as demonic issues or your unwilling to deal with your past and move on. I still have a difficult time not beating myself up for struggling and not just getting over it.

    • Discoverecovery says:

      I’ve also encountered stigma from extremely religious people. I’ve been told to “just move on and forgive” by someone on the basis of religion.
      It really is a shame that people can’t step outside of their own world view and empathize with the experiences with others. But this is why I think it’s so important to do my best to raise awareness. I want to help end the stigma and I think the best way I can do it is to share my experiences (even if its online on a blog) and allow the world to see the reality of mental illness.
      Thanks for sharing your experiences. I really hope that you are able to find people who accept you rather than judging you.
      Ayla

  2. jlstanding says:

    I am fighting the stigma by being open and talking about it, but eventually I would like to get into a space where I can actually educate people – I think that’s when the doors really open

Leave a Reply

