Bookworm Bloggin’: The life changing magic of not giving a f*ck: How to stop spending time you don’t have with people you don’t like doing things you don’t want to do

life-changing-magic-not-giving-a-fuck

A few days ago I finished reading The life changing magic of not giving a f*ck: How to stop spending time you don’t have with people you don’t like doing things you don’t want to do by Sarah Knight and I have to say, it wasn’t quite what I was expecting.

I decided to read this book after seeing a review on YouTube by Hannah Witton who raved about the humor and valuable lessons that the book has to offer. After hearing such good things about the book, I stopped by my local bookstore (where I was recently hired!!!) to pick up my own copy.

As the title suggests, the self-proclaimed parody of Marie Kondo’s The life changing magic of tidying up is a how-to guide of sorts which details the steps one must take to reclaim their joy and eliminate things that annoy. What’s more is that the author presents this information in such a way that teaches you how to do this in such a way that you do not become a total asshole. While the title of the book might suggest a F***-the-world-esque approach to finding happiness, this is not the case. Instead, Sarah Knight demonstrates how readers can respectfully decline experiences and opportunities that annoy them rather than bringing joy. She highlights the importance of respecting others and reclaiming your happiness without risking the total demise of your relationships with others. Basically, you get to learn how to set boundaries without becoming a jerk; you get to have your cake and eat it too!

Personally, I would classify this book as one which should be read in small doses. The book is hilarious and packed with information, but I found that I had to take breaks and read only 15-20 pages at a time because there was just so much information that makes you want to stop and reflect on your own life. The book really makes you stop and think about how to spend your time and how much enjoyment you are currently getting out of your life. In order to facilitate this deep thought process, the author included interactive pages which encourage you to complete activities (i.e. making lists of things that bring joy versus annoy) in order to get a better grip on how the book applies to you specifically.

I think that this book is something that everyone could learn something from, but I don’t think the book will be everyone’s cup of tea. The reason I say this is because the writing style and humorous nature of the book may come across as offensive to some individuals. More specifically, as the title of the book suggests, the author uses the F-word A LOT. And when I say A LOT I mean that some pages use the work 20+ times on a single page. With that being said, if you’re not offended by the title of the book, I would make an informed guess that you won’t be offended by the use of explicit language within the book either. Therefore, if you’re someone who is offended or annoyed by the over-use of cuss words then I would suggest that perhaps you not read this book because you will most likely not enjoy the book; thus, reading the book would be the exact opposite of learning the art of not giving a f*** about things that annoy you.

With that being said, I am someone who is not offended by course language in books and other media content, yet, I found that the frequency with which the author used the f-bomb was a bit over the top and unnecessary. At times I found it a bit annoying while I was reading the book which is also one of the reasons which I had to read the book in short bursts rather than reading it in only a few sittings. Granted, I’m not usually a huge fan of humorous books (I prefer the more serious books that pull at your heart strings) so this is not necessarily a poor reflection on the book itself, but rather a personal preference for non-humorous literature.

Overall, I would recommend this book to people who are not offended by the abundant use of potentially offensive language. While the book annoyed me when I tried reading a lot all at once, I found it much more enjoyable when I read fewer pages spread out over the course of 2 months. The book will almost certainly make you think about your own life and how you can improve your own happiness.

If you find yourself spending the majority of your time doing things that you would rather not be doing, this book is going to be great for you!

As always, thanks for stopping by and reading! Sound off in the comments below!

Ayla

 

 

One thought on “Bookworm Bloggin’: The life changing magic of not giving a f*ck: How to stop spending time you don’t have with people you don’t like doing things you don’t want to do

Leave a Reply

