Daydreaming: An effective coping skill for depression and anxiety?

Print

Do you ever find yourself daydreaming about your future in order to escape from the present? I do. All the time. My daydream goes a little something like this:

I finish my Masters degree in Social Work and immediately land a wonderful job as a mental health therapist helping people recover and reclaim their lives. My job is fulfilling and enjoyable. It brings me one step closer to opening my own practice.

After work I get in my new metallic green car and listen to my favorite music as I drive home. When I arrive at home I walk through the door to my modern condo filled with furniture that I love because with that wonderful job I’ve finally been able to move into a beautiful home and fill it with good-quality urban furniture and home accents. 

As I walk through the entrance and slip off my coat and shoes, I am greeted by my adorable, loving, energetic little fur baby- a pug! His curly little tail is waging as I scoop him up into a big hug and tell him how much I love him and missed him while I was at work. I find his favorite toy and play with him for a while before changing into more comfortable clothes and take him for a walk to enjoy the perfect sunset and get some exercise. 

When we get home from our little adventure I make dinner for both of us then settle in to watch the newest episode of Grey’s Anatomy. When the episode finishes I am left reeling over the most recent drama that has befallen Grey-Slown Memorial Hospital. I decide to read a book to relax so I go to my personal library (a converted home office) filled with books and curl up in my favorite chair to read. My pug joins me and curls up in my lap while I lose myself in the book before finally calling it a day and going to bed with my fur baby snoring gently on the pillow beside me. 

The perfect end to a perfect day. 

This daydream plays in my head a few times a week and whenever I am faced with something challenging or stressful, I remind myself that I’m working towards a goal. When I’m feeling hopeless and I’ve sunk into the deepest points of depression, this is sometimes the only way that I can start to feel a bit better. This daydream serves as a reminder that things will get better and there is hope for a happy future. I know that my future will not necessarily play out exactly like this, but this dream reminds me that there are so many things that the future has to offer. Daydreaming has become a coping mechanism to pull me out of my depression. Essentially I use escapism to ground myself and bring myself back to reality. Because no matter how bad your depression gets, it’s important to realize that the hopelessness is not reality. There is always hope for a better tomorrow and sometimes it takes a bit of daydreaming to realize that.

Dream on lovely readers, dream on. ♥

xo

Ayla

3 thoughts on “Daydreaming: An effective coping skill for depression and anxiety?

  1. Courage Coaching says:

    I daydream too..Always have..It is a coping mechanism, although some call it disassociation..Hope is a very big part of my daydreaming too and I agree that it helps keep you going! ❤

    • Discoverecovery says:

      I think I experience disassociation differently than daydreaming. It’s similar but disassociation is something my mind does without my conscious effort whereas my daydreams are often consciously brought about. I didn’t actually think about that similarity until now though. Great point!

Leave a Reply

