Summer sun and staying busy

 

Hello wonderful readers of the internet!

Today I’m feeling inspired to write despite the fact that I’m still feeling quite unwell. I’ve been having a bit of a rough few weeks but the last couple of days have been wonderful! I’ve been reading a ton (no surprise there…), watching a lot of Glee on Netflix, and yesterday I got to spend the day at the beach with my best friend who I don’t get to see very often since we live so far apart. And to top off the excitement of yesterday I am going to see Finding Dory tonight with my sister who I also haven’t seen in a few months now! I am so excited! It’s a nice change of pace to have things to do and people to see rather than feeling so unwell that I spend days in bed watching boatloads of Netflix and YouTube.

Right now I’m feeling content and happy while enjoying the beautiful summer day today. I think I’m learning to appreciate the good days more when they arrive because I know that life can so quickly throw you a curve ball and turn you upside down. Conversely, I’m also learning that it’s important to try and push through the days when I’m feeling terrible and stick to my routine because staying occupied can actually help you feel better much more quickly than staying in bed for days on end ruminating on negative feelings. One of the reasons that I think this week has been so much better than the last month or so is the simple fact that my therapist has pushed me to get up, get out of the house, and keep myself busy rather than staying in my own little bubble of a world at home in my room. Even simple tasks like going for a walk, reading a book at the park, going to the mall, or writing a blog post can be good distractions and force you to focus on something other than anxiety or negative emotions for a certain amount of time. So if you plan your days out and make yourself to-do lists for each day to keep yourself busy, it just might help you to start feeling better in the same way that it has evidently helped me in the past few days.

82d82203bd47e65d4ca5cd4e87b772aa

Additionally, making yourself get up and complete various tasks on your to-do list will make you feel so much more productive. For me, this meant searching for scholarships and writing essays for those scholarships to possibly earn some financial support to help me pay my way through my master’s degree. I’ve also been getting a lot more chores done and spending more time doing things that used to bring me joy such as playing my guitar and writing.

In addition to setting myself daily goals/to-do lists, I’ve also started setting monthly goals. Usually this includes reading X amount of books, writing X number of blog posts, and crossing off tasks that I’ve been meaning to do for a long time such as finding a new family doctor or buying my textbooks for school. These tasks don’t have to be monumental to be useful to your mental well-being. I feel a sense of satisfaction even crossing off the simplest tasks such as going for a walk.

Evidently, keeping myself busy has helped me in more than one way. I’m hoping to keep this up for the remainder of the summer and then use this approach to completing my school assignments and readings rather than procrastinating like I did throughout much of my undergraduate degree. Here’s to staying busy while also finding time to enjoy the sunshine and smell the daisies.

 ♥ ♥ ♥

xo
Ayla

3 thoughts on “Summer sun and staying busy

  1. I Sing the Body Electric says:

    This is such an inspiring and positive post. Well done you, for your determination to make changes to boost your wellbeing and avoid falling into the rumination trap 😊 I’m glad you’re enjoying the simple pleasures like sitting in the sun and smelling the daisies 😁💖

Leave a Reply

