Bookworm Bloggin’: And the trees crept in by Dawn Kurtagich

28449150Synopsis

When Silla and Nori arrive at their aunt’s home, it’s immediately clear that the “blood manor” is cursed. The creaking of the house and the stillness of the woods surrounding them would be enough of a sign, but there are secrets too–the questions that Silla can’t ignore: Who is the beautiful boy that’s appeared from the woods? Who is the man that her little sister sees, but no one else? And why does it seem that, ever since they arrived, the trees have been creeping closer?

Filled with just as many twists and turns as The Dead House, and with achingly beautiful, chilling language that delivers haunting scenes, AND THE TREES CREPT IN is the perfect follow-up novel for master horror writer Dawn Kurtagich.

Review

AND THE TREES CREPT IN is the very first horror book that I’ve attempted to read and I have to say that I am a bit of a wimp when it comes to creepy/scary movies so it should be no surprise that this book absolutely terrified me. So if you’re like me and you scare easily, my first piece of advice is to not read this book alone, in the dark, in silence, near ominous looking trees/wooded areas, or just before bed. And now that we’ve got the advice out of the way, lets get into the actual review!

First of all, I want to commend the author for such a vividly descriptive book. In fact, I would argue that this particular element of her writing style is probably one of the major reasons why the book was actually so thoroughly terrifying. I could imagine the scenes in my head so vividly that it was as if I was watching the story unfold before my eyes; I felt immersed in the book and this factor made it that much creepier to read. I found myself needing to listen to a white noise recording in the background to keep me grounded in the real world while reading this book because otherwise it was just way too creepy for me to handle it!

One unique experience that I had while reading this book was this overwhelming desire to know what happens next while simultaneously being too afraid to keep reading. Reading this book became almost frustrating at times because I desperately wanted to know what was going to happen but I was too creeped out to continue reading. The book was a page-turner to say the least but I almost felt as though I had to weigh the pros and cons of continuing at some points because I actually hate the feeling of fear but I still wanted to read the book. In the end, I had to read this book in small bursts throughout the day. I could handle it in smaller doses…just barely.

As a genre, I don’t think I’ll be reading horror again anytime soon, if ever. While I realized that AND THE TREES CREPT IN was going to be a thriller, I don’t think I realized just how intensely terrifying it was going to be until I was laying awake at 3am unable to fall asleep because I was terrified. Evidently, this genre is not for me! However, the book itself is fantastic! If you’re looking for a book that will horrify you and keep you coming back for more, look no further! AND THE TREES CREPT IN will be out in September 2016 so if you’re a horror fanatic, be sure to add this one to your to-read list and pick up a copy. It will be sure to terrify you.

Ayla

Note: I received an advanced reader copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest reader review. The opinions expressed herein are entirely my own. 

One thought on “Bookworm Bloggin’: And the trees crept in by Dawn Kurtagich

Leave a Reply

