Lunette cup: Who says periods have to be a pain?

Lunette-blog-header-image

Have you heard of menstrual cups? The unfortunate reality is that most of the females who I know that are old enough to menstruate are not aware of menstrual cups and often those who know about them are misguided by common misconceptions. As a result, I’ve decided to team up with Lunette to bring my readers accurate information about menstrual cups and all of the benefits that come along with them!

For those of you who may not know, menstrual cups are small, flexible silicone cups which can be inserted into the body in order to collect menstrual fluid. Unlike tampons and pads, menstrual cups collect the fluid rather than absorbing it which makes the cup a reusable and much safer option for women and girls alike. Furthermore, because the Lunette cup is made of medical-grade silicone and does not contain harsh chemicals like tampons do, there is no risk for Toxic Shock Syndrome (TSS) which can be a life-threatening condition.

Why use a menstrual cup?

Menstrual cups are safe, reusable, and convenient alternatives to tampons and pads. There is no risk of developing toxic shock syndrome and because the Lunette cup is reusable, you will save hundreds of dollars that would otherwise be spent on disposable products. Furthermore, the reusable nature of the product means that it is better for the environment because it eliminates the need for disposable pads and tampons which end up in landfills, lakes, and oceans. Not to mention the fact that you can use a Lunette cup for up to 12 hours which means you can empty it in the morning and be leak-free for your whole day while you’re at work, school, or on the go! Just be sure that you’re aware of how heavy your period is because you may need to empty the cup more often on heavier days.

Lunette Cup vs. Diva Cup: Which is better?

Personally, while I have more experience with the Diva Cup, the Lunette Cup wins this competition hands down. I wanted to be sure that I was completely comfortable with using the Lunette cup before writing this review to ensure that my opinions are accurate, but I feel as though I got the hang of it relatively quickly so I’m writing this after only one cycle of use.

In terms of ease of use, I found the Lunette Cup much easier to get the hang of. Personally, I would say that the Lunette Cup would be a much better alternative if you are new to using menstrual cups simply because it is so much more comfortable than the Diva Cup and much easier to insert. While both cups are made of medical grade silicone, I find the Lunette Cup to be much more flexible which makes it a lot easier to fold for easy insertion.

Aesthetically speaking, the Lunette Cup comes in a variety of colours including yellow, purple, blue, coral, and clear. The Diva Cup, on the other hand, only comes in clear. While this may not be a deal breaker, it can make a difference in the appearance of stains on the cup over time. In my experience, the clear Diva Cup stains over time. While I have not used the Lunette Cup long enough to accurately judge whether or not the coloured cups retain their original colour better, I am hopeful that stains will at least be a little less noticeable on the coloured Lunette Cup. Of course, this will require proper care and regular cleaning so keep that in mind if you’re planning to get a menstrual cup.

In terms of the capacity of the cups, the Diva Cup does hold slightly more; however, in the grand scheme of things I ended up emptying the Lunette Cup at similar intervals that I would otherwise empty the Diva Cup. Realistically, the cups are intended to be used for up to 12 hours (depending on the flow) so either cup will give you the security to go hours without having to worry about emptying it.

Overall, the most important factor for me when using a menstrual cup is comfort. Personally, I found the Lunette Cup to be more comfortable during insertion, removal, and while wearing it compared to the Diva Cup. If you are a first time user, or you’re looking for a more comfortable option in place of the Diva Cup, I would recommend giving the Lunette Cup a try!

Let me know in the comments below if you decide to try the Lunette Cup or if you’ve already tried it! Also, let me know if you have any questions!

As always, thank you for reading!

xo
Ayla

Note: I received a complementary Lunette Cup in exchange for an honest product review. The opinions expressed herein are entirely my own.

2 thoughts on “Lunette cup: Who says periods have to be a pain?

  1. TheWebChick says:

    I absolutely love my Lunette cup and I love this post! At first it’s a little tricky because you have to work out which method of inserting and removing is best for you. It’s a new feeling, so it may be a little odd at first. But for me, it worked amazing.

    I wrote a short review on my blog also, if you’d like to read it or check it out, here’s a link:
    https://fabulousfemaleblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/12/menstrual-cup-review-is-it-worth-it/

    But you don’t have to 🙂

    Great post! ❤

    • Discoverecovery says:

      Awesome, thanks for sharing your link! It’s great to see so many people sharing the wonderful world of menstrual cups! There shouldn’t be a stigma around something so helpful and safe!

Leave a Reply

